CMS Announces Wave 3 of Medicare Cards

New Medicare cards are currently being sent to people with Medicare who live in the following states: Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. These states make up the 3rd Wave of mailing new cards to all people with Medicare, a project CMS expects to be complete as of April 2019.

CMS continues to mail new cards to people who live in the following Wave 2 states and territories: Alaska, American Samoa, California, Guam, Hawaii, Northern Mariana Islands, Oregon; as well as nationwide to people who are new to Medicare.

CMS said they have finished mailing new cards to most people with Medicare who live in the following Wave 1 states: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Finally, CMS encourages Healthcare organizations to continue to use the Health Insurance Claim Number (HICN) through December 31, 2019, or until your patient brings in their new card with the new number.