CLIA for Waived Laboratories

Course Details:

Category: CLIA

Duration: 30 minutes

Target Audience: Clinical or Laboratory Staff

Course Overview: The Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) of 1988, regulates laboratory testing and requires clinical laboratories to be certified by their states as well as the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) prior to accepting human samples for diagnostic testing. There are different levels of complexities for CLIA certifications available depending upon what diagnostic testing the clinical laboratory will be doing. Waived laboratory tests include over 100 simple, low risk of error tests cleared by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Training Includes:

  • Examples of CLIA Waived Tests
  • Benefits of Waived Tests
  • Types of Certifications
  • How to Enroll in a CLIA program
  • Personnel Requirements
  • Procedure Manual Contents
  • Quality Assurance
  • Sample Collecting, Devices, and Labeling
  • Proficiency Testing
  • Safety Plan
  • Laboratory Incident Report